Course Information

Research Infrastructure

Australia has a long and rich tradition of world class research and development, with the State of Victoria leading the way. Our first class education system and unique, innovative culture have led many of the world’s leading organisations to establish Research and Development operations in Victoria.

Many of Victoria’s research strengths lie in:

  • Biotechnology, medical research and pharmaceutical technologies
  • Agricultural and food technologies
  • Information and communication technologies
  • Industrial and advanced manufacturing technologies
  • Environmental and energy technologies

As well as being the home of private business research and development, many of Australia’s most important public and private sector research establishments can be found in Victoria.

Australian Synchrotron

Australia’s major national research facility, the Australian Synchrotron was officially opened in July 2007. It is ranked as a world class facility with a rapidly growing reputation for producing high quality results. The Australian Synchrotron is classified as the largest scientific user facility in the southern hemisphere and is located in the South Eastern suburb of Clayton.

The Australian Synchrotron is recognised for its major breakthroughs across a wide range of scientific and industrial applications, from medical research to micro manufacturing.

Click here to access further information.

Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Peter MacCallum is the largest cancer research group in Australia, comprising of 500 scientists, clinician researchers, research nurses, support staff and health professionals.

Their major areas of research includes; Cancer Immunology, Tumour Microenvironment and tissue architecture, Molecular genetics and human cancer, Growth Control, Clinical trials, Molecular and Cellular Therapeutics, Centre for Cancer Imaging, Supportive Care Research and Radiation research.

Click here to access further information.

Nanotechnology Victoria

Nanotechnology Victoria was formed in September 2002 as a joint venture between four major universities: Victoria University, Monash University, Swinburne University of Technology and RMIT University.

One of the organisation’s major visions is to develop new sources of competitive advantage for existing and emerging industries in Victoria, using advances in nanoscience and nanotechnology. In addition, they are focused on being able to market Victoria’s capabilities and technology outcomes nationally and internationally.

Click here to access further information.

Victorian Medical Research Institutes

Victorian Medical Research Institutes include:

  • Victorian Medical Research Institutes
  • Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute
  • Bernard O’Brien Institute of Microsurgery
  • Bionic Ear Institute
  • Burnet Institute (incorporating the Austin Research Institute)
  • Centre for Eye Research Australia
  • Florey Neuroscience Institutes (incorporating the Howard Florey Institute, Brain Research Institute and National Stroke Research Institute)
  • Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
  • Mental Health Research Institute
  • Monash Institute of Health Services Research
  • Monash Institute of Medical Research
  • Murdoch Childrens Research Institute
  • National Ageing Research Institute
  • National Institute of Clinical Studies (NHMRC Institute)
  • National Trauma Research Institute
  • National Vision Research Institute
  • Prince Henry’s Institute
  • St Vincent’s Institute
  • Walter and Eliza Hall Institute (WEHI)

Victorian Universities with Major Medical Research Capabilities

Victorian Universities with Major Medical Research Capabilities include:

  • Deakin University
  • La Trobe University
  • Monash University – including Australian Regenerative
  • Medicine Institute
  • RMIT University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • University of Melbourne – including Bio21 Molecular Science and Biotechnology Institute
  • Victoria University

Victorian Health Services with Major Medical Research Capabilities

Victorian Health Services with Major Medical Research Capabilities include:

  • Austin Health
  • Barwon Health
  • Bayside Health
  • Melbourne Health
  • ORYGEN Youth Health/ORYGEN Research Centre
  • Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
  • Royal Children’s Hospital
  • Royal Women’s Hospital
  • Southern Health
  • St Vincent’s Health
  • Western Health

Other Victorian Medical Research Organisations

Other Victorian Medical Research Organisations include:

  • Australian Stem Cell Centre
  • Australian Synchrotron
  • Cancer Council Victoria
  • Cancer Trials Australia
  • CSIRO Molecular and Health Technologies
  • NICTA (National ICT Australia) Victoria Research
  • Laboratory – (Life Sciences Programs)
  • Nucleus Network
  • Turning Point Alcohol and Drug Centre