Course Information


There are nine publicly funded universities and a number of accredited private higher education providers, with campuses located in the heart of the city, as well as the suburbs and regional Victoria. Click on Melbourne or Regional Victoria to see where the universities are located. Only one of our universities is based outside Melbourne, but many have campuses throughout the state, and some even have campuses overseas.

More than 58,000 international students were enrolled to study at Victorian higher education institutions in 2008.

International students have a well-established and thoroughly integrated presence on all campuses. They love studying here, and Victorians make them all very welcome. Campus life is relaxed. Most students commute, although some live in halls of residence. Libraries are busy meeting places. Many universities also have cafeterias, shops, banks, theatres, clubs and societies on campus.

Studying here is challenging, but very rewarding. Our universities encourage independent thought. You control your own study program. But there�s plenty of support. Teachers in our universities are always available. Core course material is given in lectures. This material is then discussed in smaller tutorials. Science, technology and psychology subjects also involve laboratory work. Assessment is generally by written assignment and examination.

Degrees usually take three years, although some, like Law and Medicine take longer. You may be offered the opportunity to do a further honours year, which will involve more coursework, research and an honours thesis. Usually you�ll need an honours degree if you want to undertake postgraduate study.

Victorian universities are among the best in the world. So if you study in Melbourne, you�ll leave with qualifications that are recognised around the world. Victoria�s nine universities include:


"My university in Melbourne is of extraordinarily high quality in regard to the academic standard."

Learn more about Ahmed's experience

Victorian universities offer a range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses including:

  • Business Administration and Management
  • Computer Science and Information Systems
  • Engineering and Surveying
  • Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Medical Science and Medicine
  • Architecture and Building
  • Visual and Performing Arts
  • Economics
  • Education and Training
  • Physical Sciences
  • Science
  • Health and Community Services
  • Nursing
  • Law and Legal Studies
  • Services, Hospitality and Transport

Four Victorian Universities, RMIT University, Swinburne University, the University of Ballarat and Victoria University are dual-sector institutions, having both a TAFE division and a university.  Dual-sector institutions offer both higher education and vocational education and training (VET) courses to study, allowing more flexible pathways into higher education through the transfer of credits between VET and higher education courses.